Scientific direction Development of key enabling technologies
Transfer of knowledge to industry

PhD : selection by topics

Combined analysis of kinematic, brain activity and oculometric parameters related to handwriting with supervised machine learning models for dysgraphia diagnosis tool in children

Département Systèmes

Laboratoire Signaux et Systèmes de Capteurs

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0443

etienne.labyt@cea.fr

Nearly a third of school-aged children fail to develop the efficient handwriting performance required to cope at school (Smits-Engelsman et al, 2001; Danna et al, 2016). Among this population, 5 to 10% of children are dysgraphic. Currently, the diagnosis of dysgraphia is based on the BHK test which is relatively subjective. Most of the time, the dysgraphia diagnosis is done lately and lead to serious consequences on children scholar achievements. It is thus crucial to diagnose and handle these deficits as early as possible. The most investigated aspects of handwriting is the motor level (Danna et al, 2013; Smits-Engelsman & Galen, 1997; Hamstra-Bletz & Blöte, 1993), but brain or oculomotor activities associated to handwriting have been poorly investigated in children. Recently, a first algorithm for automatic detection of dysgraphia has been developed (Asselborn et al, 2018), but technological improvements are required for its use in the dysgraphia diagnosis. In a previous study, an important database has been collected in typical and dysgraphic children and handwriting parameters specific to dysgraphic children have been identified and used to develop a first algorithm. Performances achieved in terms of dysgraphia diagnosis are around 85%. The current PhD position aims at analyzing the handwriting in typical and dysgraphic children by using 3 simultaneous measurements: handwriting kinematic parameters, brain activity recorded by EEG and oculomotor activity recorded by eye tracking. From these data, contribution of EEG and oculomotor features in supervised machine learning models will be assessed. The final goal is to develop a new tool, automatic and reliable, for dysgraphia diagnosis.

Design, development and evaluation of sensors based on electrical methods for detecting and quantifying airborne ultrafine particles

Département des Technologies des NanoMatériaux (LITEN)

Laboratoire de Nanocaractérisation et Nanosécurité

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0464

simon.clavaguera@cea.fr

Research field: Air quality monitoring is a real societal challenge that leads to strong expectations from the public. Currently, there is no reliable low-cost particulate matter sensors that covers a wide range of particle size. Many optical sensors are reported but respond to particles larger than 300 nm by providing their mass concentration (PM10 and PM2.5). Only few ergonomic and accurate personal monitors allow the assessment of individual exposure to manufactured nanomaterials and ultrafine particles. This is indicative of a high potential for exploitation. Description of the research topic: We propose to develop particle microsensors offering granulometric sizing over the 5-300 nm range and the chemical composition of the collected material. The purpose of this PhD thesis is to develop, assess, theoretically and experimentally, the performances of an integrated device for the detection and the quantification of particles based on ion diffusion charging. The device is aiming to sort the particles according to their electrical mobility and to collect them selectively on a substrate according to size-resolved concentric rings. Quantitative analysis of particle charging and losses will be carried out. The electrical detection using electrometers will allow quantification in real time thanks to an appropriate signal processing algorithm. Several metrics of interest will be explored such as number-based concentration, LDSA (lung-deposited surface area) concentration and mass concentration. We propose the development of a simplified system allowing the monitoring of several channels (5-20 nm, 20-100 nm, 100-300 nm) in order to propose a solution able to determine and locate sources of ultrafine particles in real time (application to urban pollution).

Improving CO2 fixation by microalgae through a combined genetic, metabolic and process engineering approach

DPACA (CTReg)

Autre

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0471

florian.delrue@cea.fr

Improving CO2 fixation by microalgae is a challenge for the developing microalgae industry. There is great interest in this improvement, as it will significantly increase the biomass productivity of microalgae reducing the cost of cultivation and more specifically as a vector in in flue gas bioremediation. Promising candidates with increased rates of photosynthesis were obtained in a previous study. They will be screened in this PhD thesis for their increased ability to fix CO2. The best mutant(s) will be thoroughly characterized. First, a genetic approach through complementation studies will be performed. Then, the metabolites produced during photosynthesis will be determined and measured to produce a map to understand the basis of the CO2 fixation increase. And finally, these mutants will be grown in fully instrumented photobioreactors to adopt a process approach. This line of attack using diverse and complementary techniques (genetics, metabolics and process) will allow the understanding and improvement of CO2 fixation by microalgae.

Cross-layer security reinforcement of vehicular wireless communication protocols

Département Systèmes

Laboratoire Communication des Objets Intelligents

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0515

benoit.denis@cea.fr

Vehicular wireless connectivity (also referred to as V2X for Vehicle to Everything) is seen today as a core enabler of future cooperative intelligent transport systems (C-ITS) (ex. highly autonomous driving, vulnerable users safety, fleet/trajectories coordination, vehicular mapping and vehicular Internet of Things?). ITS-G5, which relies on the IEEE 802.11p radio standard operating at 5.9 GHz, or C-V2X/LTE-V, which is an adaptation of 4G cellular solutions into the vehicular context (standard under definition), are two examples of relevant technologies frequently promoted in this context. However, related « open » V2X transmission modes are most often based on information broadcast (i.e., to reach the highest numbers of neighboring vehicles around) and as such, they are highly vulnerable (ex. with public control frequency channels). Accordingly, many kinds of attacks must be considered, including critical services denial (ex. through jamming, messages injection/interception, impersonations?). So far, most of the security schemes put forward in this context rely on conventional cryptographic techniques and tools (i.e., using non-specific keys, pseudonyms or signatures). On the one hand, the main security features (i.e., primitives, seeds and algorithms?), which are determined in a static way, can be over-sized in some particular vehicular use cases. On the other hand, the resulting cryptographic overhead (in terms of computational complexity and access to the core network) contribute to strongly increase the latency of protected systems, what may be not compliant with safety applications. In the frame of these PhD studies, we thus propose to define and evaluate new security mechanisms that could take benefits from different layers of the V2X protocol stack, as well as from the specificities of the vehicular application context itself (ex. « stealth » radio resource allocation, pseudo-random access and/or messages periodicity reducing the predictability of over-the-air data traffic, neighbors' trust assessment by cross-checking the consistency of exchanged application data...), while completing and reinforcing existing security schemes. A first step of these investigations with consist in conducting an in-depth risk analysis with respect to the specifications of current V2X standards. Then, some of the counter-measures proposed to mitigate most critical attacks will be validated by means of both simulations and field experimental data.

Sub-ppb detection using graphene nanomechanical resonators with optomechanical transduction

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Micro-Capteurs

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0516

thomas.alava@cea.fr

Combining ultimate surface-to-volume ratio, ultra-low mass and elevated Young's modulus, graphene rises as an optimal candidate for the next generation of ultra-low NEMS resonator dedicated to nano-gravimetric sensing. During this Ph.D., a prototype of a resonating graphene NEMS shall be fabricated and applied to mass sensing (being for gas or biological sensing). Current transduction techniques used for silicon NEMS are hardly adaptable to graphene resonators. Hence, the developement of these ultimate physics objects is currently hindered by lack of efficient transduction techniques. We aim, during this Ph.D. , at combining advantages offered by graphene resonator with an optomechanical transduction of its movement, so to demonstrate a sensor with the ability of sensing masses in the Dalton range or gaseous compounds concentration below the ppb limit. These resolutions are currently out-of-reach with current silicon NEMS technology

MEMS mirror for LIDAR in autonomous vehicules

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Labo Composants Micro-actuateurs

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0521

laurent.mollard@cea.fr

Optical MEMS (MOEMS) are more and more asked, in particular for the autonomous car, which has to have mapping possibilities in order to detect obstacles (like a LIDAR - "LIGHT Detection And Ranging"). It consists in scanning the environment with a laser beam and in measuring the distance between the LIDAR and the point where is reflected the laser. A micro-mirror can fill advantageously this function, assuring compactness of the system and low production cost. The goal of this thesis consists in developing a 1D and 2D micro-mirror able to scan the space following two perpendicular directions, in particular for the LIDAR application. For that purpose, first it will be necessary to study the state of the art on micro-mirrors, to understand the specifications linked to the focused application. From these specifications, the candidate will have to investigate the actuation principle (preferentially piezoelectric). After these preliminary studies, and in parallel of the experimental study of 1D micro-mirrors already developed in CEA-LETI, the candidate will have to work on the analytical modelling, and/or the Finite Element Method (FEM) simulation using COMSOL, of new 1D and 2D micro-mirror architectures. The technological realization of demonstrators will be assured by the technological platform of the CEA-LETI. The candidate will participate in the follow-up of the manufacturing and then will performed the electromechanical and optical characterizations of the devices, in order to compare them with specifications. Finally, the student will propose all the optimization and new architectures in order to improve the performances of the devices.

108 Results found (Page 5 of 18)
first   previous  3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7  next   last

Voir toutes nos offres

Direction scientifique
Transfert de connaissances vers l'industrie

Nos Thèses par thème

Apports de l'analyse conjointe des paramètres cinématiques de l'écriture, de l'activité cérébrale et oculométrique dans des modèles supervisés pour l'aide au diagnostic de la dysgraphie chez l'enfant

Département Systèmes

Laboratoire Signaux et Systèmes de Capteurs

ingenieur, machine learning, traitement du signal

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0443

etienne.labyt@cea.fr

Les troubles de l'écriture, appelés « dysgraphies », concerneraient 5 à 10% des enfants d'âge scolaire (Smits-Engelsman et al, 2001; Danna et al, 2016). Actuellement le diagnostic de la dysgraphie est basé sur un test relativement subjectif, le BHK. Le diagnostic, souvent très tardif, de ces troubles conduit à des situations d'échec scolaire. Leur diagnostic précoce est donc essentiel. La littérature décrit relativement bien les dysgraphies d'un point de vue moteur (Danna et al, 2013; Smits-Engelsman & Galen, 1997; Hamstra-Bletz & Blöte, 1993), mais très peu de données concernant l'activité cérébrale ou oculomotrice sont disponibles. Récemment, un premier algorithme permettant de détecter une partie des enfants dysgraphiques a été développé (Asselborn et al, 2018), mais cet outil présente des limitations technologiques empêchant son utilisation pour le diagnostic. Dans le cadre du projet soutenu par le programme Bottom Up, nous avons acquis une large base de données d'écriture d'enfants typiques et dysgraphiques et avons développé des algorithmes basés sur l'analyse des traces écrites, et identifier des paramètres cinématiques discriminatifs des enfants dysgraphiques. Les performances atteintes par nos algorithmes en termes de détection de la dysgraphie sont de l'ordre de 85%. L'objectif de la thèse proposée est d'analyser l'évolution de l'écriture chez l'enfant typique et dysgraphique sur la base de 3 mesures conjointes: les paramètres cinématiques de l'écriture, l'activité cérébrale mesurée par EEG, l'activité oculomotrice mesurée par Eye Tracking et d'évaluer, à partir de ces données, l'apport de features issues de l'EEG et de l'oculométrie dans les modèles supervisés. La finalité est de développer un nouvel outil d'aide au diagnostic de la dysgraphie entièrement informatisé et fiable.

Conception, développement et évaluation de dispositifs intégrés de détection et de quantification de particules ultrafines dans l'air

Département des Technologies des NanoMatériaux (LITEN)

Laboratoire de Nanocaractérisation et Nanosécurité

Ingénieur et/ou Master recherche en sciences des matériaux, science des aérosols et/ou génie électrique

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0464

simon.clavaguera@cea.fr

Domaine de recherche : La mesure de la qualité de l'air est un enjeu sociétal qui conduit à de fortes attentes de la part de la population. Peu de solutions ergonomiques et fiables permettent le suivi de l'exposition particulaire sur une large gamme de taille. De nombreux capteurs optiques existent mais répondent aux particules de taille supérieure à 300 nm en fournissant des équivalents en concentration massique (PM10 et PM2.5). Ainsi les outils performants, bas coût et couvrant toute la large gamme des aérosols inhalables font défaut aujourd'hui. Ceci est révélateur d'un fort potentiel de valorisation. Résumé du sujet : Nous nous proposons donc de développer des microcapteurs de particules offrant une sélection granulométrique sur la gamme 5-300 nm qui permettraient également de déterminer la composition chimique des particules collectées. Cette thèse a ainsi pour objectif de développer et d'évaluer, théoriquement et expérimentalement, les performances d'un dispositif intégré de détection et de quantification de particules basé sur le principe de charge par diffusion d'ions. Les phénomènes de charge et de pertes éventuelles des particules feront l'objet d'une étude particulière. Le dispositif visé permettra de trier les particules selon leur mobilité électrique, de les déposer sélectivement sur un substrat selon des anneaux concentriques et de les quantifier en temps réel à l'aide d'électromètres et d'un algorithme de traitement du signal adapté. Différentes métriques d'intérêt seront explorées telle que la concentration exprimée en nombre, en masse et en LDSA (lung-deposited surface area concentration). Nous proposons, en outre, le développement et l'évaluation sur le terrain d'un système simplifié permettant de suivre plusieurs canaux d'intérêt (5-20nm ; 20-100 nm ; 100-300 nm) afin de proposer une solution capable d'identifier des sources de particules ultrafines en temps réel (application à la pollution urbaine).

Amélioration de la captation du CO2 par les microalgues via une approche combinant génétique, métabolique et biotechnologie

DPACA (CTReg)

Autre

biologie végétale, biotechnologie, microbiologie

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0471

florian.delrue@cea.fr

L'amélioration de la captation du CO2 par les microalgues représente un défi majeur pour l'industrie en développement des microalgues. Cette amélioration suscite un grand intérêt car elle permettra d'augmenter considérablement la productivité en biomasse des microalgues, de réduire les coûts de l'étape de culture et également d'augmenter la capacité de bioremédiation des fumées industrielles des microalgues. Des souches de microalgues présentant des taux de photosynthèse élevés ont été obtenus lors de précédents travaux. Au cours de ce projet de thèse, elles seront étudiées pour leur capacité accrue à capter le CO2. Les souches les plus performantes seront caractérisées de manière approfondie. Tout d'abord, une approche génétique sera menée à travers des essais de complémentation. Ensuite, les métabolites produits pendant la photosynthèse seront déterminés et mesurés afin de produire un schéma permettant de comprendre les raisons de l'amélioration de la fixation de CO2. Enfin, ces mutants seront cultivés dans des photobioréacteurs entièrement instrumentés pour adopter une approche biotechnologique. Cette approche utilisant des techniques diverses et complémentaires (génétique, métabolique et processus) permettra une meilleure compréhension de la captation du CO2 par les microalgues.

Renforcement de la sécurité inter-couches des protocoles de communication sans fil véhiculaires

Département Systèmes

Laboratoire Communication des Objets Intelligents

Master 2 Recherche (Systèmes et protocoles de communication sans fil, Télécoms, Cyber sécurité...)

01-10-2019

SL-DRT-19-0515

benoit.denis@cea.fr

La connectivité véhiculaire sans fil (ou V2X pour Vehicle to Everything) apparaît aujourd'hui comme un ingrédient essentiel des futurs systèmes de transport intelligents connectés (C-ITS) (ex. véhicule autonome, sécurité des usagers vulnérables de la route, coordination de flotte, cartographie et Internet des Objets véhiculaire?). A titre d'exemple, on pourra citer la technologie ITS-G5, qui repose sur le standard radio IEEE 802.11p à 5.9 GHz, ou encore la technologie C-V2X/LTE-V, qui se présente comme une adaptation de solutions cellulaires 4G au contexte véhiculaire (standard en cours de définition). Mais les modes de transmission V2X envisagés reposent le plus souvent sur une diffusion indifférenciée d'information (c.-à-d., destinée à toucher le plus grand nombre de véhicules alentours) et se trouvent ainsi naturellement exposées (ex. avec des canaux fréquentiels de contrôle fixes et connus publiquement). Aussi, de nombreux types d'attaque sont aujourd'hui envisagés, allant jusqu'au déni de service (ex. brouillage, injection/interception de messages, usurpation d'identité?). Jusqu'à présent, les méthodes de sécurisation mises en avant dans ce contexte s'appuient pour l'essentiel sur des approches conventionnelles à base de cryptographie (c.-à-d., utilisant des clés, des pseudonymes, des signatures non-spécifiques). D'une part, les fonctions et paramètres de base (i.e., primitives, graines, algorithmes?), qui sont sélectionnées de manière statique, peuvent s'avérer mal dimensionnées en fonction du contexte d'usage. D'autre part, le surcoût cryptographique engendré (en termes de complexité calculatoire et d'accès au réseau c?ur) est de nature à dégrader fortement la latence -pourtant critique- des systèmes véhiculaires à protéger, ce qui peut s'avérer rédhibitoire pour certaines applications. Dans le cadre de cette thèse, on se propose donc de définir de nouveaux mécanismes de sécurité tirant conjointement profit des différentes couches du protocole radio V2X et du contexte applicatif véhiculaire (ex. « furtivité » de l'allocation de ressources radio et/ou ordonnancement pseudo-aléatoire de l'accès, pseudo-périodicité des messages par le biais de modèles de trafic réduisant la prédictibilité des paquets over-the-air, évaluation de la confiance des tiers via un contrôle de la cohérence/conformité d'informations applicatives échangées...), tout en complétant/renforçant les schémas sécuritaires actuels. L'étude comprendra une première phase d'analyse du risque au regard des spécifications V2X actuelles. Certaines des méthodes proposées pour contrecarrer les attaques les plus critiques seront évaluées à partir de simulations et de données expérimentales.

Vers la détection du ppt grâce à des résonateurs graphène à transduction optomécanique

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Laboratoire Composants Micro-Capteurs

Formation généraliste physique / Nanosciences / Matiere condensée

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0516

thomas.alava@cea.fr

Combinant à la fois un rapport surface sur volume ultime, une très faible masse et un module d'Young très élevé, le graphène s'annonce comme le matériau de choix pour le développement des prochains NEMS destinés à la détection nano-gravimétrique. Dans cette thèse il s'agira de réaliser un prototype de NEMS graphène résonant pour des applications de détections de masse (gaz, particules ou biologie). Les techniques usuelles de transduction des NEMS silicium sont difficilement transposables au résonateurs graphène dont le développement souffre actuellement de l'absence d'une stratégie de transduction efficace. Nous nous proposons de combiner les avantages d'un résonateur graphène à la transduction optomécanique du mouvement de celui-ci pour réaliser un capteur pouvant détecter des masses de l'ordre du Dalton ou des concentrations gazeuses inférieures au ppb. Ces résolutions sont à l'heure actuelle inatteignables par les technologies NEMS silicium.

Micro-miroir pour le LIDAR dans le véhicule autonome

Département Composants Silicium (LETI)

Labo Composants Micro-actuateurs

Physicien, Mécanicien

01-09-2019

SL-DRT-19-0521

laurent.mollard@cea.fr

Les MEMS optiques (MOEMS) sont de plus en plus demandés, en particulier pour la voiture autonome, qui doit avoir des possibilités de cartographie afin de détecter les obstacles (comme un LIDAR - "LIGHT Detection And Ranging"). Il consiste à balayer l'environnement avec un faisceau laser et à mesurer la distance entre le LIDAR et le point où est réfléchi le laser. Un micro-miroir peut remplir avantageusement cette fonction, assurant la compacité du système et un faible coût de production. Le but de cette thèse sera de développer des micro-miroirs 1D et 2D, capable de scanner l'espace suivant deux directions perpendiculaires pour une application LIDAR compact. Pour cela, il s'agira tout d'abord de se familiariser avec l'état de l'art sur les micro-miroirs afin de comprendre les spécifications liées à l'application ainsi que leurs faiblesses. Puis à partir de ces spécifications, le candidat devra investiguer le principe d'actionnement piézo-électrique, avec des matériaux ferroélectrique (ie PZT) et non-ferroélectrique (ie AlN), et définir au vu des spécifications l'intégration de ces matériaux. Suite à ces études préliminaires, et en parallèle de l'étude expérimentale des micro-miroirs 1D existants, le candidat devra travailler à l'étude et la modélisation analytique du comportement dynamique des micro-miroirs 1D et 2D ainsi que leurs modélisations par éléments finis sous COMSOL. Ces deux approches seront développées en parallèle. Dans ce cadre, des designs dits à amplification mécanique seront étudiés, afin de pallier au faible débattement de l'actionnement piézo-électrique par un design adapté. Le design et la modélisation devront également prendre en compte la possibilité d'avoir un effet piston du micro-miroir (ie un déplacement selon Z), ce qui permettrait un contrôle de la phase de l'onde réfléchie. De même, la non-linéarité du matériau devra être abordée lors du design, par l'incorporation, par exemple de sonde piézo-résistive ou de contrainte, permettant le suivi, en temps réel, du micro-miroir lors de l'actionnement. De manière générale, une commande des micro-miroirs par boucle de rétrocontrôle devra être étudiée et mise en place pour optimiser leur adressage. La réalisation des micro-miroirs sera assurée par la plateforme technologique du CEA/LETI. Le candidat participera au suivi de cette fabrication puis effectuera les caractérisations électromécaniques et optiques des dispositifs afin de les comparer aux spécifications visées. Le candidat participera ainsi à la mise en place d'un banc de caractérisation optique dédiée à ces micro-miroirs, permettant la mesure des paramètres physiques (angle optique, fréquence?) Enfin, l'étudiant proposera toutes les pistes et nouvelles architectures susceptibles d'améliorer les performances de ces dispositifs en vue d'une seconde phase d'optimisation. Les notions de packaging et contraintes d'intégration dans un système fonctionnel devront être prises en compte, ainsi que la gestion de la thermique liée à l'impact de la source laser sur le micro-miroir, et ce dès la phase de conception du micro-scanner afin de faciliter son intégration dans un futur démonstrateur.

106 (Page 5 sur 18)
first   previous  3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7  next   last
-->

Voir toutes nos offres